Menu Content/Inhalt
Home arrow Diamonds - 4C's
We appraise gem stones!

Paul Ginocchi G.G., G.J.
Accredited Appraiser (CJI)
Registered Master Valuer
Toronto, ON

Who's Online

Sunday, 18 March 2018
Diamonds - 4C's Print E-mail

The 4C's of Diamond Grading

Every diamond is unique. Each reflects the story of its arduous journey from deep inside the earth to a cherished object of adornment. Yet all diamonds share certain features that allow us to compare and evaluate them. These features are called the 4Cs.


A diamond's weight is expressed in Carats.  Each carat is divided into 100 points, which means that a 1 Carat stone equals 100 points.  Another example shows a half of a carat written as 0.50 CT.  Some dealers will advertise a ring as 1.00 CTW, which means that all of the stones total one carat.


Thanks to nature, each diamond has it's own characteristics.  Many factors, including inclusions and blemishes, along with their size, colour and position, help us to determine a clarity grade.  The difference between an inclusion and a blemish is that an inclusion is positioned within the stone, while a blemish is on the surface.


Diamond clarity



Colourless diamonds are the most rare.  Most diamonds have slight shades of yellow or brown.  the GIA (Gemological Institute of America) colour grading system uses the letters D through Z.


Diamond colour chart


Cut is the only characteristic of a diamond derived from a human element.  Cut is what gives a diamond it's brillance and fire.

 Active Image


Next >